BJP's Biplab Deb takes oath as Tripura CM in presence of Modi, Advani & Sarkar

By: ABP News Bureau
Updated: 09 Mar 2018 02:57 PM
Agartala:  Biplab Kumar Deb, the 48-year-old Tripura BJP president, took the oath as the Chief Minister of the northeastern state in presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Lal Krishna Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi and other major party leaders.

Former chief minister Manik Sarkar, who ruled the state for 20 years, was personally invited by Deb and BJP National General Secretary Ram Madhav was also present at the ground.

After Diblab was sworin, PM Narendra Modi addressed the audience saying, "a new hope has come to Tripura. My best wishes to new CM @BjpBiplab and his new team."

He also said, "in the history of India, there are some elections that will always be discussed. The 2018 Tripura elections will be one such example. People will continue to discuss these polls."

Jishnu Dev Burman took oath as the Deputy Chief Minister.

Deb was unanimously elected leader of the BJP legislature party in the state and will stake claim to form the government in Tripura before Governor Tathagata Roy.

Born into a middle-class Bengali family at Rajdhar Nagar village in Tripura's Gomati district on November 25, 1971, his father Haradhan Deb was a local leader of the Jan Sangh. He completed his graduation and left for Delhi soon after to join the RSS. He then served the right-wing organisation for around 16 years.

Deb returned to Tripura in 2015 and assumed the charge of central Jan Sampark Pramukh of BJP, and was made the state president of the saffron party on January 6, 2016.

Earlier in the month, the BJP and its ally Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT) scripted history in the assembly election by ending the 25-year reign of the Left Front-led by the Communist Party of India (Marxist), with a two-thirds majority in the Tripura legislative assembly elections.