ABP News Exit Poll 2019: BJP's Babul Supriyo to bite the dust in Asansol. Here's West Bengal's complete seat-wise projection

West Bengal has a total of 42 Lok Sabha seats, third highest after Uttar Pradesh 80 and Maharashtra's 48.

ABP News Exit Poll 2019 BJP's Babul Supriyo to bite the dust in Asansol. Here's West Bengal's complete seat-wise projection
Union Minister Babul Supriyo (PIC/Facebook account)
By: ABP News Bureau
Updated: 20 May 2019 07:43 PM
NEW DELHI: The BJP has taken giant strides and made major headway into the Trinamool Congress territory of West Bengal in 2019 Lok Sabha elections, according to an exit poll conducted by ABP News. The saffron party, which has been targeting West Bengal over the past couple of years, is slated to win 16 of the 42 seats in the state, adding 14 Lok Sabha constituencies to its tally of two achieved in 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

The TMC, which swept the 2014 general elections in the state by bagging 34 Lok Sabha seats, may be reduced to 24 seats. The Congress, which won four seats in 2014, may get only two seats,  the exit poll projected.

According to seat-wise projections in the state, Union Minister Babul Supriyo is likely to be vanquished by his TMC rival Moon Moon Sen from Asansol. Sitting Member of Parliament Mamtaz Sanghamita of the Trinamool Congress may taste success by defeating Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) stalwart SS Ahluwalia  from Burdwan-Durgapur Lok Sabha constituency. TMC’s Khalilur Rehman is projected to trounce Congress's Abhijeet Mukherjee in Jangipur.

Key takeaways:

The state, which has witnessed the bitterest electioneering this time between the TMC and the BJP, went to polls in all seven phases. The BJP had gone all out to make electoral gains in West Bengal, with Prime Minister Narendra Modi himself holding several rallies. Party chief Amit Shah has also addressed many public meetings besides holding road shows in the state.

The state has witnessed the most bitter election campaign this time, which was accompanied by violence during all the six phases of polling.

The latest episode of violence was witnessed during a road show of Amit Shah, with the statue of Ishwar Chandra Bandyopadhyay, an icon of West Bengal, being vandalised.

In view of the violence, the Election Commission (EC) took an unprecedented step of curtailing poll campaign in the state by a day as it ordered stoppage of poll campaigning from 10 p.m. on Thursday in the nine Lok Sabha constituencies.

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has been a trenchant critic of the BJP and the Narendra Modi-Amit Shah duo during the course of the national polls. On Sunday, she  dismissed exit poll results in a tweet saying: "I don't trust Exit Poll gossip. The game plan is to manipulate or replace thousands of EVMs through this gossip. I appeal to all Opposition parties to be united, strong and bold. We will fight this battle together," the West Bengal CM tweeted.

ABP Exit Poll 2019 - Below is the complete West Bengal's seat-wise projection:


Win - TMC's Moon Moon Sen

Lose - BJP's Babul Supriyo


Win - Sitting Member of Parliament Mamtaz Sanghamita of the Trinamool Congress

Lose - Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) stalwart SS Ahluwalia


Win: TMC's MLA Kanhaia Lal Agarwal

Lose: Congress’ Deepadas Munshi

Malda North:

Win: BJP's Khagen Murmu

Lose: TMC's Mausam Noor


Win: TMC’s Khalilur Rehman

Lose: Congress's Abhijeet Mukherjee


Win: Dinesh Trivedi win


Win: Kalyan Banerjee, TMC


Win: Locket Chatterjee, BJP


Lose: BJP's Bharti Ghosh


Win: Dileep Ghosh, BJP

Diamond Harbour:

Win: Abhishek Banerjee, TMC


Win: TMC's Mimi Chakraborty

Kolkata South:

Lose: BJP's CK Bose

Kolkata North:

Lose: BJP's Rahul Sinha

  1. Cooch Behar - BJP

  2. Alipurduar - BJP

  3. Jalpaiguri – TMC

  4. Darjeeling - BJP

  5. Balurghat - BJP

  6. Maldaha Dakshin - Congress

  7. Baharampur -    Congress

  8. Murshidabad - BJP

  9. Bangaon -   TMC

  10. Krishnanagar - TMC

  11. Ranaghat - BJP

  12. Dum Dum - TMC

  13. Barasat – TMC

  14. Basirhat - TMC

  15. Jaynagar - TMC

  16. Mathurapur - TMC

  17. Howrah -           BJP

  18. Uluberia - TMC

  19. Arambag - BJP

  20. Tamluk - TMC

  21. Kanthi - TMC

  22. Jhargram – BJP

  23. Purulia - BJP

  24. Bankura – BJP

  25. Bishnupur - BJP

  26. Bardhaman Purba - BJP

  27. Bolpur – TMC

  28. Birbhum – TMC