Hans Raj Hans accepted Islam in 2014, ineligible to contest from reserved North West Delhi seat, claims AAP

The AAP said Hans Raj Hans has accepted Islam in 2014 and changed his name to Mohammed Yusuf.

Lok Sabha elections Hans Raj Hans a Muslim, ineligible to contest from reserved North West Delhi seat, claims AAP
Hans Raj Hans with Prime Minister Narendra Modi. File
By: ABP News Bureau
Updated: 02 May 2019 06:50 PM
NEW DELHI: The Aam Aadmi Party on Thursday claimed singer Hans Raj Hans, who is BJP candidate from the North West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency, cannot contest polls from a reserved seat because he converted to Islam in 2014 and became a Muslim.

AAP leader and Delhi's Social Welfare Minister Rajendra Pal Gautam said Hans does not belong to a reserved category because he embraced Islam five years ago. He said Hans has violated the Election Commission's (EC) rules by "deliberately" concealing this information.

"As per the guidelines of the Election Commission, North West Delhi is a reserved seat. But BJP's candidate Hans Raj Hans does not come from the reserved category as he converted to Islam on February 20, 2014. He deliberately concealed this information from the EC. This is a complete violation of EC rules," Gautam said.

Gautam also claimed that several media house had reported about Hans's conversion in 2014.

"Several newspapers and news portals have done stories on Hans' conversion. Hans has also changed his name to Mohammad Yousuf," the AAP leader said, adding that the sufi singer later decided to carry his old name in the industry.

"Because he converted to Islam, he no longer belongs to the Scheduled Caste."

Gautam, who is also an advocate, said AAP's legal team will move a petition against Hans in court to get his nomination cancelled by the Election Commission.

Also, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal said Hans will finally be declared ineligible to contest from North West Delhi.

"Hans Raj Hans is ineligible to fight from a reserved seat. He will finally be declared ineligible. Voters from North West Delhi shud not waste their votes on him (sic)," Kejriwal tweeted.

The BJP pitted Hans against Guggan Singh of the AAP and Rajesh Lilothia of the Congress.

Delhi is witnessing a triangular fight involving the Congress, the BJP and the AAP in this Lok Sabha election. All seven seats in the city will go to polls in the sixth phase on May 12.

The BJP had won all the seven seats from the national capital in 2014.