Arvind Kejriwal involved in hawala: Salvo by Mishra; AAP a party in crises

Some of the ex-AAP leaders who resigned or ousted by the party. From Left to Right (Top)-Mayank Gandhi, Kapil Mishra. From Left to Right (Bottom)-Medha Patkar, Shazia Ilmi. (Image: ABP Live)
By: Anurag Kumar
Updated: 20 May 2017 11:22 AM
New Delhi: Formed on 26 November 2012, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) may probably the political party with most number of controversies in such small span of time, in recent past.

Since its inception, many of its leaders, some founding members, deserted it giving one reason or the other. Some are expelled following difference with AAP national convener Arvind Kejriwal.

The latest one ousted from this political party is Kapil Mishra after he alleged that he saw Kejriwal taking 2 crores from Satyendar Jain.

Here is a list of some of those who left or expelled from AAP:

1) Captain Gopinath

He quit Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party on May 24, 2014 five months after joining it. Reportedly, he left AAP because of differences over Arvind Kejriwal’s “jail politics” and “lack of internal democracy” in the party.

“I have had a series of differences on certain matters and I have brought it to the notice of people concerned. I am not in favour of the recent actions of Mr Arvind Kejriwal and decided to quit ,” he had said, reported The Hindu.

2) Shazia Ilmi

Image: Shazia Ilmi/Twitter

In a jolt to AAP, one of its key members, Shazia Ilmi quit the party in May, 2014. She cited differences with party leadership and slammed Arvind Kejriwal's "jail politics".

3) Yogendra Yadav and Prashant Bhushan

Image: PTI/File

Founding members-turned-rebel leaders Yogendra Yadav and Prashant Bhushan were expelled from the party. Along with them, Anand Kumar and Ajit Jha have also been expelled by AAP’s national disciplinary action committee which found all four guilty of anti-party activities.

4) Medha Patkar

Image: Medha Patkar/Twitter

Medha Patkar, social activist, quit the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) condemning the ugly infighting that saw two founder members Yogendra Yadav and Prashant Bhushan being voted out of a key panel for challenging chief Arvind Kejriwal.

5) Mayank Gandhi

Image: Mayank Gandhi/Facebook

AAP's senior leader from Maharashtra Mayank Gandhi sent out his resignation from the party’s national executive. In his resignation letter, Mayank Gandhi stated that he is losing interest in politics.

6) Shanti Bhushan

One of the founder members, Shanti Bhushan left AAP alleging that Arvind Kejriwal (now CM of Delhi) 'lacks organisational skills'.

The pace with which changes are taking place in political corridors of Delhi, it will be interesting to see how the things will unfold in near future.