Cabinet approves Telangana Hyderabad joint capital for 10 yrs

By: admin
Updated: 03 Oct 2013 08:48 AM

New Delhi/Hyderabad: The cabinet
Thursday formally decided to bifurcate Andhra Pradesh to carve out
Telangana as India's 29th state.

Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde
announced after a nearly two-hour cabinet meeting presided over by Prime
Minister Manmohan Singh that a decision was taken to split Andhra Pradesh
to create Telangana.

According to the decision taken in line with
the July 30 resolution of the Congress Working Committee (CWC), Telangana
will comprise 10 districts with Hyderabad as the joint capital of both
states for 10 years.

The cabinet also decided to set up a group
of ministers (GoM) to address issues arising out of bifurcation.

group of ministers will determine the mechanism to ensure appropriate
legal and administrative measures for both successive state governments to
function from the common capital of Hyderabad for 10 years and to ensure
the safety and security of residents in all three regions of coastal
Andhra, Rayalaseema and Telangana including guarantees of fundamental
rights," Shinde said

He said the GoM will work out special
financial disbursement for the residuary state of Andhra Pradesh for
formation of new capital and to meet special needs of backward regions and

The government is now likely to send a resolution to
President Pranab Mukherjee, who will refer it to the Andhra Pradesh

A bill for formation of Telangana state is likely to
be tabled in the winter session of parliament.

Of the three
cabinet ministers from Seemandhra (Rayalseema and coastal Andhra), two,
Pallam Raju and K.S. Rao, attended the cabinet meeting and they reportedly
registered their dissent over the note submitted by the home minister.

cabinet decision triggered fresh protests in Seemandhra, with various
groups opposing the state's bifurcation calling for a shutdown Friday.

went on high alert in all 13 districts of Seemandhra and beefed up
security at vital installations and at the residences of public

The cabinet decision capped the day long
developments in the national capital and in Hyderabad.

Telangana issue was not on the agenda of the cabinet meeting but was
reportedly taken up as a 'table item'.

While talking to
reporters earlier in the day, Shinde had dismissed as speculation reports
that the issue will come up in the meeting.

Ignoring the protests
of leaders from Seemandhra, the government decided to go ahead with the
state's division.

Around 30 anti-Telangana supporters Thursday
protested outside Prime Minister Manmohan Singh's official residence where
the cabinet meeting was held.

Holding banners and shouting
slogans, the protestors called for 'Saving Andhra Pradesh' and tried to
enter the prime minister's residence. Police took them away.

to a police officer, the protestors arrived in small groups of two's and
three's and assembled near the prime minister's house.

general secretary Digvijaya Singh, in charge of the party in Andhra
Pradesh, appealed to Congress leaders from all regions to cooperate and
abide by the decision.

On the Seemandhra leaders' demand that the
Antony Committee visit the state to hear the views of people before any
step is taken, he said the committee was not constituted to reverse the
CWC decision.

He said the committee was looking into various
issues raised by them and it would submit its report to the GoM.

Congress set up a four-member committee headed by Defence Minister A.K.
Antony in August to look into the concerns of people opposed to Telangana.

Director General of Police B. Prasada Rao Thursday evening held a video
conference with the inspectors general of police and superintendents of
police of all 13 districts of Seemandhra.

Protesters took to
streets across Seemandhra Thursday morning and laid siege to the
residences of union ministers and MPs, demanding their resignation to
mount pressure on New Delhi to keep the state united.

leaders from Seemandhra met in Hyderabad and reiterated that the Congress
Working Committee must reconsider its decision to carve out a Telangana

The meeting, attended by 14 ministers and about 50 state
legislators, also resolved to vote against the resolution whenever it is
brought in the state assembly.

State minister S. Sailajanath, who
heads the Congress leaders opposing Telangana, told reporters that they
remained committed to 'samaikyandhra' (united Andhra).

He along
with other ministers later met Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy, who is
openly defying the leadership by opposing the decision to divide the

The chief minister reportedly told the ministers that
they will take a collective decision.