President Kovind confers Outstanding Parliamentarians Award

Updated: 01 Aug 2018 10:55 PM

New Delhi [India], Aug 01 (ANI): President Ram Nath Kovind on Wednesday presented Outstanding Parliamentarians Award for the year 2015 to Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad.

Outstanding Parliamentarians Award for the year 2013 was given to Manipur's Governor and five time Rajya Sabha member Dr Najma A. Heptulla and for year 2014, the award was presented to Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) Lok Sabha member Hukumdev Narayan Yadav.

Speaking to ANI, Heptulla said, "Our democracy is our biggest strength. It has been 70 years since independence, we have showed the world that there is unity in diversity."

Biju Janata Dal (BJD) Member of Parliament (MP) from Odisha's Cuttack Bhartruhari Mahatab was also honoured with the Outstanding Parliamentarian Award for 2017.

Trinamool Congress' Dinesh Trivedi was also honoured by the Outstanding Parliamentarians Award for the year 2016.

All five leaders were awarded by President Kovind at the Central Hall of the Parliament House in Delhi.

The Outstanding Parliamentarian Award was established in 1995.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Vice President Venkaiah Naidu and Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan were also present at the award function. (ANI)

This story has not been edited. It has been published as provided by ANI