Vijay Hazare Trophy: Dhoni, Karthik, Pandey, Nehra shine on Day 1

By: Wah Cricket Team
Updated: 25 Feb 2017 08:35 PM
Photo: twitter

Kolkata: Mahendra Singh Dhoni hit couple of towering sixes in his 43 but once again failed as a finisher with Karnataka pipping Jharkhand by five runs in a group D league encounter.

More than 1000 people turned up at the Eden Gardens, simply because Dhoni was playing. He did bat for a period but as luck would have it, Jharkhand were all-out for 261 in 49.5 overs after Karnataka scored 266 in 49.4 overs. For Karnataka, Manish Pandey scored 77.

The Jharkhand skipper along with burly Saurabh Tiwary (68) added 81 runs for the fifth wicket after coming to bat at 79 for 4.

Dhoni took eight balls to get off the mark with a single off Stuart Binny. He took 23 balls to break free when he charged down the track to IPL-10's Indian Rs 2-crore pick Gowtham over midwicket for a huge six and began his assault against debutant seamer T Pradeep.

MATCH 1: Karnataka 266; 49.4 overs (Manish Pandey 77, Ravikumar Samarth 71; Rahul Shukla 4/45, Varun Aaron 2/52, Monu Kumar 2/44, Anand Singh 2/47) beat Jharkhand 261 in 49.5 overs (Saurabh Tiwary 68, M S Dhoni 43; K Gowtham 4/58, Prasidh 2/41, T Pradeep 2/49) by five runs.


MATCH 2: Hyderabad 257; 49.3 overs (Tanmay Agarwal 68, Akshath Reddy 60, S Badrinath 43; Manzoor Dar 2/30, Ram Dayal 2/40) Jammu and Kashmir 228; 42.4 overs (Ahmad Omar Banday 87, Ravi Kiran 3/49, Mehdi Hasan 3/52, C V Milind 2/35). Hyderabad beat J&K by 29 runs.

MATCH 3: Services 263/9; 50 overs (Nakul Verma 124; Shaurya Sanandia 4/67) Saurashtra 215; 39.4 overs (Prerak Mankad 58, Jaydev Unadkat 57; Suraj Yadav 4/47, Diwesh Pathania 2/45, Vipin Singh 2/59). Services beat Saurashtra by 48 runs.

Cuttack: Wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik slammed a superb century to power Tamil Nadu to a comprehensive 42-run win over Delhi in the one-day Group B match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy here on Saturday.

Put into bat, Karthik blasted 13 boundaries and three sixes in his 97-ball innings, while Kaushik Gandhi (41) and Baba Indrajith (46) also made useful contributions as Tamil Nadu posted 314 for eight in their 50 overs.

Despite a four-wicket haul by the experienced Ashish Nehra and three wickets by Manan Sharma, Delhi failed to control the flow of runs as Tamil Nadu batted well to post a challenging target at the Barabati Stadium.

Chasing 315 to win, Gautam Gambhir (51) and Dhruv Shorey (57) came up with twin fifties, while Milind Kumar (68 off 58 balls) hit a fighting half-century but Delhi still failed to cross the finishing line.

MATCH 1: Tamil Nadu: 314 for 8 in 50 overs (Dinesh Karthik 118; Ahish Nehra 4/39) Delhi: 272 allout in 46.4 overs (D Shorey 57, Gautam Gambhir 51; W Antony Dhas 3/52)


MATCH 2: Maharashtra: 376 for 7 in 50 overs (Ruturaj Gaikwad 132; PP Jaiswal 2/82) Himachal Pradesh: 351 allout in 48.5 overs (P CHopra 100; JP Zope 4/60, SS MUndhe 3/75). Maharashtra beat HP by 25 runs.

Match 3: Kerela: 233 for 9 in 50 overs (Salman Nizar 82 not out;AK Sarkar 3/41) Tripura: 235 for 8 in 49.2 overs (Gurinder Singh 61; Krishna Kumar 2/36). Tripura beat Kerala by 2 wickets.

Chennai: Riding on half-centuries from skipper Aditya Tare (83) and Siddhesh Lad (64), Mumbai got the better of Gujarat by 98 runs in a Group C match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy here on Saturday.

Put in to bat, Mumbai overcame early jitters to put up a competitive total 273 for nine in their allotted 50 overs and then bundled out Ranji Trophy champions Gujarat for 175 in 41.4 overs.

Mumbai lost three quick wickets to be reeling at 46 for three, before opener Akhil Herwadkar (41) also got out to leave the team struggling at 85 for four at one stage.

However, Tare and Lad came to the team's rescue with a crucial 117-run stand for the fifth wicket to bail Mumbai out of trouble.


MATCH 1: Bengal beat Andhra by 4 wickets

Andhra: 225 for 8 in 50 overs (DB Ravi Teja 43; Pragyan Ojha 2/33, Anustup Majumdar 2/38). Bengal 226 for 6 in 48.5 overs (Shreevats Goswami 66, Anustup Majumdar 46 not out; D Swaroop Kumar 2/42).

Match 2: Madhya Pradesh beat Rajasthan by 3 wickets

Rajasthan: 212 all out in 49.1 overs (Ashok Bhudania 38; Puneet Datey 3/25) MP: 213 for 7 in 40 overs (Harpreet Singh 45 not out; Puneet Yadav 2/10).

New Delhi: Favourites Punjab today cruised to an easy six wicket win over Vidarbha in a group A league encounter of the Vijay Hazare Trophy with skipper Harbhajan Singh bowling an economical spell and Mandeep Singh blasting an unbeaten 86.

Batting first, Vidarbha were bowled out for 218 in 49.3 overs with Ambati Rayudu scoring 86 off 109 balls. He hit six boundaries and three sixes.

Punjab pacers Manpreet Gony (2/50) and Siddharth Kaul (4/33 in 10 overs) bowled well first up while skipper Harbhajan was the most economical among the bowlers giving away 29 runs in 10 overs getting Apoorv Wankhede's wicket in the bargain.

In reply, Punjab knocked off the runs with 53 balls to spare with Mandeep anchoring the chase hitting nine boundaries and two sixes. Former India A player Manan Vohra also hit 50 while current India U-19 limited overs captain Abhishek Sharma struck 46 off 37 balls at the Feroz Shah Kotla.

Match 1: Vidarbha 218 in 49.3 overs (Ambati Rayudu 86, Ganesh Sathish 42, Siddharth Kaul 4/33, Harbhajan Singh 1/29) vs Punjab 219 in 41.3 overs (Mandeep Singh 86 no, Manan Vohra 50, Abhishek Sharma 46). Punjab won by 6 wickets.


Match 2: Baroda 259/9 in 50 overs (Deepak Hooda 119, Kedar Devdhar 77, Irfan Pathan 6, Karn Sharma 2/51) vs Railways 229 in 46.4 overs (Saurabh Wakaskar 58, Krunal Pandya 3/32, Hardik Pandya 2/47, Irfan Pathan 2/30). Baroda won by 30 runs.

Match 3: Odisha 229 in 47.5 overs (Sandeep Pattanaik 91, Anurag Sarangi 77, Joginder Sharma 2/47, Mohit Sharma 2/33) vs Haryana 230/5 in 48.2 overs (Chaitanya Bishnoi 83, Rahul Tewatia 62 no). Haryana won by 5 wickets.